Album Releases, New, Single Releases

Norah Jones Takes a Joyous Leap with New Album “Visions” and Lead Single “Running”

Norah Jones, the acclaimed singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, is set to enchant fans once again with her upcoming ninth solo studio album, “Visions”. Scheduled for release on March 8th via Capitol Records, the album is a collaboration with producer and multi-instrumentalist Leon Michels, and it promises to be a vibrant and joyous musical journey.

The excitement surrounding “Visions” is heightened with the release of its lead single, “Running”, a song that showcases Jones’s signature style and introduces listeners to the dynamic partnership between her and Michels. The result is a raw and soulful sound, reminiscent of a garage band jam session, a testament to the organic and unpolished nature of their collaborative process.

The official video for “Running” directed by Joelle Grace Taylor (Ashnikko, Goo Goo Dolls) is already stirring enthusiasm among fans, offering a glimpse into the creative synergy that defines the entire album.

Jones describes the album’s genesis, noting that the name “Visions” reflects the late-night inspirations that fueled many of the songs. “Running”, in particular, emerged from that half-asleep, jolted-awake state that often precedes moments of creative brilliance. The album’s 12-song tracklist covers themes of freedom, the desire to dance, making things right, and embracing life’s unpredictable journey.

The new album stands in stark contrast to Jones’s previous release, “Pick Me Up Off The Floor”, which explored darker emotions and was unveiled early in the pandemic lockdown of 2020. This new album seems poised to offer a musical antidote, providing a refreshing and uplifting experience for fans.

Jones expresses her admiration for the rawness and authenticity in her collaboration with Leon Michels, describing their sound as both “garage-y” and “soulful.” This amalgamation of influences creates a unique sonic landscape that promises to captivate audiences.

In addition to “Running” the album boasts an enticing tracklist that includes songs like “All This Time”, “Staring At The Wall”, “Paradise”, and more. Each track contributes to the overall narrative of “Visions”, making it an album that promises diversity in musical styles while maintaining a cohesive and compelling storytelling arc.

Album Tracklist:

  1. “All This Time”
  2. “Staring At The Wall”
  3. “Paradise”
  4. “Queen Of The Sea”
  5. “Visions”
  6. “Running”
  7. “I Just Wanna Dance”
  8. “I’m Awake”
  9. “Swept Up In The Night”
  10. “On My Way”
  11. “Alone With My Thoughts”
  12. “That’s Life”

As anticipation builds for the album’s release, fans can look forward to a celebration of life, music, and the creative energy that emanates from Norah Jones and Leon Michels’ collaboration.

With its March 8th release date approaching, “Visions” is poised to be a standout addition to Norah Jones’s illustrious discography, offering a musical journey that is sure to resonate with fans old and new alike. As Norah Jones continues to evolve as an artist, her upcoming project is a testament to her enduring creativity and ability to craft music that transcends genres and speaks to the soul.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *